2,611 miles (part 2)

We arrived in Arthur, Iowa on Wednesday evening. Grandma Aiken had chicken enchiladas, bread, and salad ready for us and had even made rhubarb bundt cake for dessert, all after they had driven back from Colorado! We loved spending time with them for a day, and it was also a nice break from the road. Thursday night Grandma Aiken and I went to a ladies’ event for their church at the Prairie Pedlar. I loved looking at all the themed flower gardens, and I also met the lady who gave Matt hot chocolate when he ended up in a ditch near their house years ago on an icy night!

My picture taking this day was a bit rough.

We had planned to leave Iowa Friday morning, drive to St. Louis, then drive the rest of the way on Saturday morning. Well, Matt decided it would be best to get as close to Nashville as possible so we would could maximize time to get settled on Saturday. We drove all the way to Clarksville, TN – just under an hour away from our apartment!! It was a long drive, but I’m so glad we did it. It was exciting to wake up Saturday morning and know we were so close!

I missed the Missouri sign, but was able to snap a pic on my iPhone (I was trying to do Twitter updates and take pictures on my new camera!).

It was dark when we entered Tennessee, but luckily I have the state sign from our last trip.

And this is what our apartment community looks like!

Thank you for all your prayers! We arrived safely with minimal challenges along the way. Matt drove the entire time, never got tired, and was a excellent road trip companion. I think I might venture to say that I’m not opposed to road tripping again…just not for a while :).

One thought on “2,611 miles (part 2)

  1. YAY!! Congratulations Aikens! I can’t wait to see pictures of the new abode 🙂

Leave a Reply

