Gender Reveal!!

Matt and I are absolutely thrilled to finally share the news with all of you!!

It’s a GIRL!!!!!!!!!!

I brought a card along to our appointment on Thursday and had the ultrasound tech write the gender down and seal the envelope so we could open it together at dinner. We went to our spot, Bastille – where we spent our first ‘date night’ in Seattle and a restaurant we visit frequently.

This card sat on the table for a good 20 minutes before Matt insisted that we open it!

………!!!!!!!!

We’re having a baby GIRL!!!! I had kind of convinced myself that we were having a boy, so I was so surprised when I saw “Girl!” written on the inside of the card. Knowing that the baby is a ‘she’ makes everything so much more real now, and with each day I am more eager to meet her!

Our families live far away (and both Matt’s dad and my youngest sister were out of the country), so I wanted to do something simple but fun to tell them! We ran to JoAnn’s to get some ribbon to tie around my tummy then hurried back to Skype and make several phone calls.

We hadn’t planned on doing a gender reveal party (which seems to be all the hype these days), but when all of our company left last weekend I realized we had a good chunk of free time this week and decided to have some friends over to celebrate. After all, how could I pass up a couple hours of crafting during the week and then celebrating with friends on Friday night? πŸ™‚

As our guests arrived, Matt asked them to ‘wear their guess’. The final vote was Girl: 4 and Boy: 9. I saw the bow and mustache idea on Pinterest. Their version were attached to popsicle sticks, but they only came in a pack of 200 so I decided to make little pins instead. My sweet friend Michaela over at Michaela Noelle Designs graciously took photos for us last night. Thank you so much, Michaela!!

To make the cupcake toppers, I cut circles from scrapbook paper, stamped an “a” for Baby A, and glued them to toothpicks.

The cupcakes are from my favorite recipe (pinned here). For the “reveal,” I cut out a small circle, spooned a little pink frosting down into the cupcake, and replaced the tops. I would recommend making the frosting a deeper color, especially if you’re using pink, because as you’ll see later, the frosting was pretty light.

All the girls (minus Allison who was on her way!).

And the men.

Alright, this picture is slightly awkward because Matt had to bite all the way into the center of the cupcake to get to the color. He rose up to the challenge though, and we had fun doing it – just like our wedding all over again!

And…they’re PINK for our sweet baby girl!

Thanks to all our friends who celebrated with us last night!! It is so encouraging to have friends who are invested in us and care for us. The community of God’s people is a great blessing! Have a great weekend, and check back for more updates soon!

Tagged , , ,

7 thoughts on “Gender Reveal!!

  1. Melissa says:

    Yay — a girl! Crafting and cupcakes seems like the perfect way to celebrate πŸ™‚ You look beautiful, by the way.

  2. nate&amy says:

    great pictures!

  3. vlweir says:

    Can’t wait to meet my niece! I hope she is as wonderful and crafty as my sister πŸ™‚

  4. Tamara says:

    I just came across your blog with this post, and thought “what a great way to reveal the gender.” My hubby and I find out (hopefully) on Wednesday what we’re going to have. My parents and brother are convinced it’s a boy, while my husband’s family and a few members of mine are holding out for a girl. Jason (the hubby) and I are pretty neutral on the subject, although I’m now leaning toward girl. Congratulations!!

  5. Miranda says:

    Congrats! I am so happy for you both!

  6. Michaela says:

    SO FUN! So glad I was there to experience the surprise πŸ™‚ So happy it’s a girl and I had a blast shopping with you today!

Leave a Reply

