The Graduate

Today I’m featuring a lady near and dear to me, my younger sister Eloise. Last weekend Matt and I traveled to Indiana for Eloise’s college graduation. I thought it would be best to introduce you to her by doing a little Q&A session. So without further ado, meet my sister Elosie!

Where did you grow up?
 I grew up on a tree farm in the woods in Mitchell, Indiana.

Where did you go to school?
After high school I attended Manchester College in northern Indiana for three semesters studying Biology and Environmental Studies. I studied abroad in Cheltenham, England at the University of Gloucestershire for a semester before transferring to Indiana University in Bloomington.

What is your degree and what do you love about/why did you choose your major?
I earned a B.S. in Microbiology with Honors and a Certificate in the Business of Life Sciences last weekend. It still seems weird to say I am a college graduate! I have always loved science but knew I didn’t want to go to medical school. After a few semesters of thinking I wanted to be a professor of botany I discovered a passion for science and medicine and began working toward a career in the pharmaceutical industry. I chose microbiology because life is extremely delicate and fragile and I love to study the intricate details of how life exists. Many people have asked me how my religion fits in with science. For me, there is no contradiction between the two. As I learn more about bacteria, viruses, and DNA, I see more of the beauty of the Creator’s work and how truly amazing it is. My faith is strengthened through science. Those who know me well know that I love to share random, nerdy facts…microbiology is awesome because in a single test tube you can experiment with a larger number of individuals than there are people in the world. Also, even though they are small, microorganisms constitute the largest biomass on Earth!

What do you love to do in your free time?
 I enjoy gardening but have taken a break from it while recovering from poison ivy/sumac/oak. I am looking forward to more free time after college and plan to start jogging and cycling. I also enjoy watching movies, reading, painting, quilting, and knitting.

What is next for you?
I am moving to Indy in a few weeks to start work at Eli Lilly as a Biologist in Manufacturing Science & Technology.

What makes you most excited about the future?
No studying and exams! I am very excited about meeting new people, exploring Indianapolis, and gaining independence. I also can’t wait to become “Aunt Eloise” in a few months!

And of course, here are some pictures of the college graduate!
She decorated her cap so we could spot her in the huge crowd (it was still pretty hard to find her).

 Isn’t she adorable?

 Sisters.

The whole family, including Aunt Liz!

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to learn a little about Eloise! My youngest sister, Victoria, is probably just now arriving in Europe for a little vacation with some of her close friends from school. You’ll have to visit the blog again to meet her!

One thought on “The Graduate

  1. Congratulations to the graduate and all the best.

Leave a Reply

