May 17

 

Matt and I are very frequently asked when will you find out you’re having a boy or a girl? (That is, after asking whether we are going to find out before delivery day.) Now we can answer that…May 17!! As each day passes, we get more and more excited to meet our sweet baby.

We had our first Centering Group meeting yesterday. There are 8 other couples in our group, all due in October or the first week of November. Yesterday afternoon we spent the majority of the time getting to know them. The group is very diverse, spanning at least 10 years in age, with varying lengths of marriage, and from planned to unplanned pregnancies, with many different personalities and professions. We are looking forward to getting to know them during this season.

Each couple also had individual time with the midwife. We got to hear the baby’s heartbeat for the first time (at my 9 week appointment, the baby was too small to hear anything), which was amazing. We also heard a strange static sound, which the midwife said was the baby moving around! Matt and I were just amazed, and now I am even more eager to start feeling Baby A move inside! The midwife confirmed that I’m 16 weeks by locating my uterus a couple inches below my bellybutton. I learned that at 20 weeks, it will be in line with my bellybutton and then grow outward from there.

I’m beginning to love my new little bump (which seems like a big change already, though I know it is still minor compared to what I will measure near the end) :). But still, I show it off to Matt all the time and ask if he can tell that the baby is growing. Thank you so much for taking the time to read these little posts. We are so excited to share it with you!

Tagged ,

One thought on “May 17

  1. Heather says:

    May 17 is my birthday! Here’s hoping you have a result from your u/s. When we went at 20 weeks (our doctor will NOT do a gender u/s before 20 weeks), our baby was very modest and did not reveal gender despite some gentle prodding by the u/s tech! We went back 3 weeks later and baby was cooperative. We didn’t know until 23 weeks along that she was a girl! THAT is what we call suspense!

Leave a Reply

