I need your help!

For those of you who know me well, you know I tend to be a more private person. Matt, on the other hand, is probably one of the most open people I have met. While this dichotomy is sometimes hard, it has also grown us. For example, when we found out we are having a baby, we had to decide who to make the announcement to and when.

From the beginning, I was so thankful that Matt was overflowing with joy that he wanted to tell everyone, but at the same time I didn’t want everyone to know right away. I wanted to make sure that we could tell those who are close to us first, before they heard through the grapevine. We’ve slowly (or maybe quickly for me) spread the news around ;).

When I first decided to blog and include my pregnancy, I wanted it to be pretty private. I planned to send it to family and close friends who live far away. However, it’s really been on my heart to make it a public blog. I am the first of my close friends to have a baby. When Matt and I first talked about trying to have kids, I was concerned that I wouldn’t have anyone around my age to connect with, ask questions, etc. We started praying for clarity and timing, and I started praying that God would place a young mother in my life (that may sound weird, but I did!).

I’m so thankful for Matt’s cousin Amanda who also lives in Seattle. It’s been really great to have family close by, and we have grown to be good friends over the past months. In addition, she is expecting her first little girl in May! Though our experiences have been totally different, it’s been comforting and encouraging to know someone is sharing a similar season in their lives. I’m also really excited that our little ones will have playdates together – they’ll be just 5 months apart. Also, the week we found out we were going to have a baby, about 4 other men that Matt works with announced that their wives are all due within a few weeks of us! It’s pretty awesome how God sometimes answers our prayers in such a concrete way.

While every pregnancy and child is different, I pray that by opening up our lives to you, we can serve as a sound board for others. I am sometimes unsure of what questions to ask and what might be too personal, but honestly I have been greatly encouraged by the questions we’ve been asked so far. Please feel free to leave feedback. I’ll do my best to answer everything either by commenting back or through another post. I will probably also post a ton of questions for you. My hope is that this is an interactive space.

So here’s how you can help me!

  • What questions do you have?
  • What topics do you want to read about?
  • Do you have any blogging advice? Ideas?

Finally, if you’re like me and prefer to have everything in one place, you can “follow” our blog, which essentially means you will receive an email every time Matt or I post. If you scroll down to the very bottom of the page, you will find the “Follow Us!” button to subscribe.

Thank you for stopping by again. I would love your feedback :)!

4 thoughts on “I need your help!

  1. Kasey Shuler says:

    Hi Lauren!

    Thanks for writing your blog! I love hearing about you and how the pregnancy is going, and of course I am always interested in the nutrition and fitness parts too.

    Love you can’t wait to read more!
    Kasey

  2. Lauren Aiken says:

    Thanks, Kasey! I’m planning to post some recipes and will do some posts on prenatal nutrition and fitness too. If anyone has prenatal exercise recommendations, I would gladly welcome them!

  3. Allison says:

    Yay! I’ll be following along via google reader 🙂

  4. Melissa says:

    I love that you’re sharing your journey with us. (I, too, am subscribed to you in google reader!)

Leave a Reply

