food aversions.

Have any of you experienced food aversions? What do you do to combat them?

I had read in What to Expect When You’re Expecting that up to 85% of women experience some type of food aversion during pregnancy, usually in the first trimester. However, I hadn’t really experienced any aversions or cravings (other than the my constant Thai craving – which is pretty normal for me) until recently. The past few days though, nothing has sounded appetizing to me. Matt graciously helped make baked potatoes and salad (and steak for himself) last night because that’s the only thing I could think of that sounded edible at the time.

Today I was determined to find an appetizing recipe to make for dinner because (1) I need more nutrient-rich foods than a potato and (2) I really love to cook so being away from the kitchen bums me out. After skimming through my favorite food blogs, I came across this tortellini minestrone recipe. It had great flavor and was packed with a ton of different veggies. I left out the bacon and leeks and had some frozen pesto on hand. If you’re not using pesto, I would recommend adding some additional spices to the soup while it’s simmering so it’s not bland.

Pardon the soup spilled down the side of the bowl…I enjoy cooking but tend to get a little messy sometimes!

Leave a Reply

